What is the Schengen Zone?

It is an area in Europe with a freedom of movement, comprised by 28 countries including Hungary. If you intend to travel to European countries, it is likely that you need to enter the Schengen Zone.


What is a short stay in the Schengen Zone?

A short stay is one not exceeding 90 days. A short stay is possible if you are a citizen of a country that is visa-free or if you have applied for and received a visa.

If you wish to stay in Hungary or another Schengen Zone country for longer, you will need a residence permit.


How long can I stay in the Schengen Area?

You are free to visit all these countries during your stay, which shall not exceed 90 days in any given 180-day period. If you have visited Europe recently, you can consult this calculator to see how long you can stay in the Schengen Area on your next trip.

If you are travelling with a Schengen visa, the visa will include the maximum days of stay allowed and any limitations to the countries you can visit.


I am a Singaporean citizen. Do I need a visa?

Singaporean citizens can enter the Schengen Area without a visa for a period not exceeding 90 days.

Your Singaporean passport’s validity must exceed the date when you intend to leave the Schengen Area by at least three months.


I am not a Singaporean citizen. Do I need a visa?

Find out here. If your country of citizenship and your passport’s type is not on the list, you will need to apply for a Schengen visa.

Chinese, Indian, Indonesian, Vietnamese, Philippine and Thai citizens among others need to apply for a visa. Citizens of Malaysia do not need to apply.


Location and Contact

Address: Embassy of the Republic of Hungary, 250 North Bridge Road #29-01/A Raffles City Tower, Singapore 179101

Tel: +65 6883-0882

Fax: +65 6883-0177